May 6, 2013

"NAHB: Not What, Who?"

The general member sees a logo and knows, hopefully, that it represents the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). Those who knows NAHB understands that NAHB is our national membership organization and if you visit you will find information that will will possibly give you a very good understanding of what your national membership provides to you. From "The association is member-driven, with more than 2,200 members who serve on the association’s Board of Directors, which elects the association’s Senior Officers and helps set the association’s agenda." NAHB's mission & vision (click here) is clearly defined as well.  
What NAHB is to you is a matter of opinion. Who is NAHB? It is members and staff, just like you. Association Maximization would like to provide for you with an overview of the "who" so you can place names and positions within the "what."

Meet the NAHB 2013 Senior Officers and Read Their Bios (click here)

Rick Judson, Chairman of the Board
Kevin Kelly, First Vice Chairman of the Board
Tom Woods, Second Vice Chairman of the Board
Ed Brady, Third Vice Chairman of the Board
Barry Rutenberg, Immediate Past Chairman of the Board
Gerald M. Howard, Chief Executive Officer
click picture to enlarge

2013 National Area Chairmen
NAHB's National Area Chairmen are elected by the Board of Directors to represent the interests and concerns of members from their area and the interests of Associate members.They work closely with the Senior Officers of the Board, forming a vital communications link between NAHB and the leaders and members in each area as well as Associate members.
Ted Mahoney Area 1
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Bill Tuyn
Area 2
New Jersey, New York
Steve Black
Area 3

Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia
James "Bugsy" GravesArea 4 Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina
Chuck Fowke, 2013 Moderator
Area 5

Florida, Puerto Rico
John Brumley
Area 6
Kentucky, Ohio, West Virginia
Timothy Neal
Area 7

Alabama, Tennessee
Eddie Duran
Area 8
Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi
Joanne Theunissen
Area 9

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan
Duane Bickett
Area 10
Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin
Carl Harris
Area 11

Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma
Eddie Martin
Area 12
Mike Sivage
Area 13

Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming
Dan Lloyd
Area 14
California, Hawaii
Richard Smith
Area 15

Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington
Kathy Craven Snodgrass National Associate Chairman

2013 State Representatives The State Representatives serve as the primary representative from each state to NAHB’s Executive Board. They provide service and information on issues of NAHB policy to the affiliated associations within their respective states and represent the views of those associations on the NAHB Executive Board.
AK - Claiborne Porter
AL - Sonny Richardson
AR - Emily Rucker
AZ - Steve Canatsey
CA - Jeff Pemstein
CO - Bob Peterson
CT - George LaCava
DE - Steven Bomberger
FL - Karen Koelemiji
GA - Jerry Konter
HI - Karen Nakamura
IA - Don Beal
ID - Jeff Wade
IL - Mike Nagel
IN - Michael Bell
KS - Tony Zimbelman
KY - Glen Stuckel
LA - Phillip Hoffman, Sr., 2013 Moderator
MA - Lawrence Kady
MD - Charles Ellison
ME - Carl Chretien
MI - Lynne Pratt
MN - Kathleen Ostrom
MO - Robert Frost
MS - Charlie Sanders
MT - Eugene Graf
NC - Erik Anderson
ND - John Gunkelman
NE - Allen Barber
NH - Greg Rehm
NJ - Dean Mon
NM - Peter Merrill
NV - Greg Peek
NY - Todd Loscombe
OH - Randy Strauss
OK - Brandon Perkins
OR - Tom Skaar
PA - Ray Venema
PR - Agustin Mujica
RI - Barbara Gallison
SC - Marc Ellis
SD - Mel Zelmer
TN - Edward Zarb
TX - (To be determined)
UT - Paul Magleby
VA - Michael Newsome
VT - Linda LaCroix
WA - Patrick McBride
WI - Ronald Derrick
WV - Dale Oxley
WY - Frank Cole

NAHB Functional Organization Structure (click here) 

NAHB Board of Directors General Information (click here)

NAHB Committees (click here)

NAHB Councils (click here)

click on picture to enlarge
click on picture to enlarge

Submitted by Michael Kurpiel, CGA, CGP
Join Association Maximization on Facebook (click here)
Join Association Maximization on LinkedIn (click here) 

No comments: